Her

Have you ever seen someone

Lose faith in front of you

Powereless, crying  clawing at the head

Kneeling, begging, sweating

Face red and contorted like the body

Like the mind in shambles

Have you ever seen their breath move

As it fills and leaves the lungs in vain

The hair in clumps flowing through fingers clutched

Have you ever seen someone in pain

As they crash in front of your eyes

Falling from a height divine

Their existence a burden their hearts can’t bear

Have you seen such a thing and lived 

Knowing you were the push off the brink

How does one live, knowing they killed a mind

And left it to rot in a flesh-clad machine

Tell me how I wash off the guilt

No soap can clean the grime off my skin

And no prayer can clean the filth off my soul

And my heart weighs me down like an anchor in my being

Have you ever seen someone lose sanity in front of you

Reach out to extinguish the glimmer of hope in an eye

Rub the wick between their fingers till the flame loses life

I see the mirror every night 

And see the other me as a dead girl with a smile 

A corpse trying hard to look alive

I have seen her stand defeated in front of me

And she doesn’t go away ever

Even when the mirror is broken and dead

She blooms in the shards like a ghost of past

Leave a Reply

