Clay

tumblr_mes823DkMU1rl2ahgo1_500.gif

What more am I than
A living statue of painted expressions
Carved in beauty yet lacking life
Filling emotion in a barren heart
Every beat a crackle in the chest
Shouldn’t I be feeling something
Butterflies they call it
Intruders in my stomach
Shouldn’t my head spin
At the sight of you
When my head approves
But how do people like you
Conjure love out of the blue
How do you string words to suit
What plays in your thoughts
Should’nt my heart skip a beat
Or my breath fall short
When you come near
Then why do I feel nothing
Except a void that I call home
An emptiness I can never seem to fill
Do you see what I fail to hide
How do I look through your eyes
Does your image of me have a smile transfixed
Or does conceit fill the contours of my face
Or do I look like just another girl
To stare at in hallways and lust to at night
How do I tell one apart from the other
How do I tell you apart from the others
Maybe its better to not guess at all
Save a heartbreak from happening
Make apathy your friend in need
Clay dolls don’t know of tragedy

Published by

Surhan

Pakistani medstudent trying to figure out existence

Leave a Reply

