Sunsets

Today when I watched the sun set
I couldn’t help but think of you
The way the sky turned its insides out
Blood orange replacing the beautiful blue
And the birds that danced in the clouds
Seemed caged in freedom as they flew
The way the sun drowned back to its grave
Rushing as if to pay a debt long due
Shadows died before lamp posts revived
And the buzz of all life bid adieu
The red in the sky purged an inky black
As Nature prepared to reap fate anew
I’d wanted to leave but my body betrayed
And I found myself thinking of you
And how perfect this sunset would’ve been
If your face sat here next to mine
While we let our hearts intertwine
And find the courage to finally give words
To the voices in our eyes dying to be heard

Leave a Reply

